Businessman Julius Tallberg (1857–1921) is considered the father of Lauttasaari, an island district to the west of the city centre. In 1911, as an active member of the city council for the growth of Helsinki, he purchased over half of the island almost accidentally, having intended to sell it onwards to the City of Helsinki for the same price. The city council was reluctant, however, and it was not until 1946 that the district was annexed by the City of Helsinki. The development of the island from a community of villas into a residential district began in 1935, when the first bridge connecting the island to the mainland was opened. Today Lauttasaari is home to approximately 18,500 residents. The popular district is set to become even more attractive with the arrival of the western metro line in the near future.

Share →

Pajalahdenpuisto Pajalahti Park

Pajalahti Park is a wide open space that was built on landfill. It is ideal for relaxing recreation and walking. There is also a playing […]
May 28, 2012 /

Merikylpylänpuisto Casino Shore

Julius Tallberg established a sea spa and casino next to the Hevosenkenkälahti bay, and local residents still refer to the park as “Casino Shore” even […]
May 28, 2012 /

Takaniemenpuisto Takaniemi Park

Takaniemi Park is on a natural headland that also contains the remains of historic fortifications. Apparently the park is popular among local youth. The treeless […]
May 28, 2012 /

Länsiulapanniemi – Summer Cottages

Helsinki has several unique summer cottage areas. Visitors are often curious to know more about them: who lives in these “Hobbit villages” with their tiny […]
May 28, 2012 /